2 Weeks Later

Well, I’ve been in London for just over two weeks and the amount of stuff that has happened is CRAY CRAY! It pretty much feels like I’ve been here for months. Here are some of the highlights and lowlights from Bethany’s UKrazy adventure thus far:

LIVING ARRANGEMENTS:

Welp, I still haven’t found a flat. Flat-hunting has proven to be Mission practically Impossible. So, if you’re wondering where on earth I’m staying, I’m staying in a hostel/residence-ish accommodation in Notting Hill. Before you ooh and ahh over the whole Notting Hill thing, let me just tell you that the conditions of the accommodation contrast profoundly with the surrounding luxuriousness of the neighbourhood. I don’t know how much longer I can go on sharing toilets/showers with 30 other people (most of whom don’t speak English lol). But whatevs, Notting Hill is a lovely central area so that’s good. For anyone who hasn’t seen the movie “Notting Hill,” go watch it NOW!

JOB:

I have a job wooooo!!! I’m working for a company called Off To Work, which staffs high profile events throughout London. Some locations include the O2, the V&A museum, and even Buckingham freaking Palace!! So far, I have worked at a wedding, a conference meeting, and the renowned Dorchester Hotel. If there’s anything I’ve learned from my job so far, it’s that high heels can make even the most simple of jobs (ie: literally walking around filling people’s glasses with wine all day) UTTERLY UNBEARABLE. Yup, the Dorchester makes female staff wear heels. High heels are evil objects. Seriously.

WORK HORROR STORY:

First day on the job at The Dorchester, I’m designated to serve champagne to guests on these fancy, heavy-ass trays. I’m doing a fine job and I’m feeling super proud of myself that I haven’t spilled or broken any glasses. And just when I’m thinking “hey, this isn’t so bad!” the wine waiter beside me knocks over a glass of champagne on my tray, triggering a lovely domino effect. So naturally, every glass of champagne on my tray either falls onto the floor and shatters, or spills onto my spiffy Dorchester uniform. Literally fml. But despite the fact that I am drenched in expensive champagne, I have to keep [fake] smiling and pretend that everything is a-ok! Dat hospitality life doe.

SIGHTSEEING:

On a more optimistic note, I got to cross one item off my bucket list so far: going inside Buckingham Palace. And let me tell you, it’s bloody *GORGEOUS*. In addition to the overwhelmingly beautiful rooms, corridors, and gardens, there was a whole exhibit on the childhoods of the members of the Royal Family. Nothing like Queen Elizabeth baby videos! So adorbs. But I have to say, I was a little disappointed in the lack of Prince Harry baby pics 😦

Haven’t had much time to do any other sightseeing as my days are generally consumed by looking for a flat. But it’s pretty cool to be able to walk to work and be like “Oh look, it’s Big Ben. NBD.”

PARTY TIME:

Although going out has not been my top priority these first two weeks since I don’t have an actual permanent home, I still have managed to party a little bit. Britbound, the program I’m doing, organizes nights out every week which are sewww much fun!! But drunkenly finding your way home on the tube/bus afterwards ain’t much fun.

SHOPPING:

Naturally, I have rekindled my love for Primark and have spent nuff time in that store. They just have everything a girl could ever need! But be warned: Never go to Primark on the weekend unless you want to become a person that hates people.

To sum it all up, I am totally loving London!!!

That’s about all I have to say for now, folks! Keep tuning in to my blog to see what else will transpire on my UKrazy Adventure. Also, check out my latest BuzzFeed article to get a taste of what it’s like to move to London: http://www.buzzfeed.com/bethanyo465891d03/18-things-that-inevitably-happen-when-you-first-mo-wi1h 

P.S. There is going to be a 48 hour tube strike next week. Pray 4 me -_- 

Leave a Reply

