The Week My Life Peaked (or, the last week of Feb 2015)

I think it’s safe to say that the last week of Feb 2015 was possibly the most surreal week of my life. Not gonna lie, this was entirely due to the fact that I had more celebrity sightings in the span of 1 week than I probably will for the rest of my life. And as much as it pains me to say so, I have no one but my hospitality job to thank for this. This week was one for the books! (And the blog, of course).

My celebrity-filled week began when I was waiting in the usual gigantic queue at The Breakfast Club for a classic hungover brunch, when Matt Healy from the band The 1975 casually strolled past. Oh heeeeyyy there 😉

But the fun certainly did not end there!

A few days later, I arrived at an ordinary dinner service shift at Kensington Palace, only to learn that this “dinner service shift” would not be so ordinary after all, due to the important guests who would be attending. Who were these oh so important guests? Yep, you guessed it: The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Harry. You know that awkward moment when you’re carrying a tray of canapes through a crowded room and you have to literally squeeze past Prince William to get through? Yup, that happened. Or how about the awkward moment when you have to lean over Kate Middleton in order to place down a new set of glassware at her seat? Yeah, that happened too. It’s hard to believe I’ve only been in London for 5 months and I’ve already seen three of the Royal Family members! It was so unbelievably awesome to witness a day in the life of the Royals.

**Cue “and we’ll never be royals”**

lorde-well-never-be-royals

And the fun didn’t stop there either!

auto-soda-billy-mays-advertising-197253

The following day, I got to work at the BRIT Awards, which was another London highlight fo sho. As I made my way to the desk to sign in for my shift, I heard a vaguely familiar voice echoing through the halls. I was able to peek onto the stage, and sure enough, there was Ed Sheeran rehearsing his performance of “Bloodstream!!!” So yeah, basically I was #DEAD before the night even began. Soon after, our team leader took us into the arena to show us which tables we’d be serving, however I was a bit distracted by the fact that Kanye freaking West was rehearsing on stage as this was happening. It was probs this rehearsal performance that led to his entire *actual* performance being muted lolz. But realistically, are we surprised?

We also got to watch Take That, Paloma Faith, George Ezra, and (wait for it)… MADONNA rehearse. Seriously, what is life!? Madonna made it through her rehearsal entirely on her feet, but unfortunately we can’t say the same for her live performance 😦 My waitressing team was also lucky enough to have Rita Ora and George Ezra at our tables. Ed Sheeran wasn’t too far away either! I wonder if he enjoyed his food…

tumblr_nk1a0lOumF1shdtkfo1_500

As you can probably tell, last week was one of those “I’m gonna be telling my grandchildren about it” weeks. Gotta love London! Plus, I got to see my 2 favourite British gingers in 2 days #bless. All I can say is, the last week of Feb 2015 was UKrazy indeed!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

